Mr. Editor:

In answer to the inquiry why the ‘appellations’ for each of the Twelve added to fill vacancies, when members have been selected as Presidents, or members have fallen away, have not been published?  I answer, here they are—old and new, as the spirits prompts me:


Brigham Young, the Lion of the Lord
Heber C. Kimball, the Herald of Grace
Willard Richards, the Keeper of the Rolls

The Twelve

Orson Hyde, the Olive-branch of Israel
Parley P. Pratt, the Archer of Paradise
Orson Pratt, the Gauge of Philosophy
Wilford Woodruff, the Banner of the Gospel
John Taylor, the Champion of Right
Geo. A. Smith, the Entablature of Truth
Amasa M. Lyman, the Aegis (protector) of Justice
Ezra T. Benson, the Helmet of Righteousness
Charles C. Rich, the Measuring Rule of Patience
Lorenzo Snow, the Mirror of Hope
Erastus Snow, the Evergreen Sprig of the Mountain
Franklin D. Richards, the Spyglass of Faith.

On these hang the law and the prophets for this dispensation, and may our Father bless them to do good, while, and where good can be administered to the heirs of salvation, for I calculate to be “a little book open,” as long as truth is needed in the flesh, and afterwards, amen.

W.W. Phelps

[Deseret News, 1:221]
[Journal History of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Mar. 8, 1851, 2]

[transcribed and proofread by David Grow, July 2006]

Return to Parley P. Pratt in Utah