Result of the Election in the Territory of Utah,
held on the first Monday of August, 1853

Delegate to Congress.

John M. Bernhisel duly elected by 1232 majority.  Cover all other candidates.

Councilors to the Legislative Assembly.

Great Salt Lake County—Heber C. Kimball, Willard Richards, Daniel H. Wells, Orson Hyde, Parley P. Pratt.

Davis County—Thomas S. Smith.
Weber County—Loren Farr, Jonathan Browning.
Utah and Juab Counties—Aaron Johnson, L.E. Harrington.
San Pete County—Isaac Morley.
Millard County—J. McGaw.
Iron County—George A. Smith

Representatives to the Legislative Assembly.

Great Salt Lake County—J.M. Grant, Franklin D. Richards, A.P. Rockwood, A. Carrington, W. Woodruff, J.C. Wright, Lorenzo Snow, Erastus Snow, Wm. Stewart, J.W. Cummings, W.W. Phelps, John L. Smith.

Davis County—John Stoker, Henry W. Miller.
Weber County—Albern Allen, Luman A. Shirtliff, Dwight Harding.
Utah County—Silas Hillman, Joseph A. Keiting, James C. Snow.
San Pete County—Madison D. Hambleton
Millard County—William Felshaw
Tooele County—Ezra T. Benson
Juab County—Jacob G. Bigler
Iron County—Calvin C. Pendleton, Robert Wiley.

[Deseret News, Aug. 25, 1853]
[Journal History of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Aug. 1, 1853, 1]

[transcribed and proofread by David Grow, July 2006]

Return to Parley P. Pratt in Utah Government