A considerable number of the inhabitants of that portion of Upper California, lying east on the Sierra Nevada mountains, met in convention in Great Salt Lake City on Monday, the 5th and appointed Albert Carrington, Joseph L. Heywood, William W. Phelps, David Fullmer, John S. Fullmer, Charles S. Rich, John Taylor, Parley P. Pratt, John M. Bernhisel and Erastus Snow as a committee to draft, and report to the convention a constitution, under which the inhabitants of said Territory might organize and govern themselves, until the Congress of the United States should otherwise provide by law.

[History of Brigham Young, 1849:27]
[Journal History of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Mar. 5, 1849, 1]

[transcribed and proofread by David Grow, July 2006]

Return to Parley P. Pratt in Utah Government