State of Deseret.

First Session of the General Assembly.

Pursuant to the proclamation of His Excellency Governor Brigham Young, in relation to convening the General Assembly, the members elect to the Senate and House of Representatives met each in their respective chambers, in the State House, Great Salt Lake City, on Monday, the 14th inst., at 10 a.m.

The Senators elect were called to order by Hon. George A. Smith, who moved that the Hon. John Taylor be appointed President pro tem., which was carried unanimously.  Patrick Lynch, Esq., was, on motion, appointed Secretary pro tem.

The President pro tem, on taking the chair, appointed Messrs. George A. Smith, Ezra T. Benson and Orson Pratt, a committee to examine the credentials of the Senators elect, who reported that the following were entitled to seats…

From Washington county, Orson Pratt, sen.

The President announced the following standing committees:

On Counties—J.W. Hess, J.W. Cummings, Albert Carrington, Orson Pratt.

On Education—Orson Pratt, Lorenzo Snow, Orson Hyde, Albert Carrington.

On Library—O. Pratt, W. Woodruff, J.W. Hess.

The Senate then adjourned till Tuesday at 10 a.m.

[Deseret News, Apr. 16, 1862]

[transcribed and proofread by David Grow, Sept. 2006]

Return to Orson Pratt in Utah Government