General Items

The Woman’s Democratic club met in the new Democratic club rooms, Progress Building, Wednesday afternoon, Jan. 18th.  After transacting considerable business of importance the following ladies were chosen to serve as vice-presidents: First precinct, Mrs. Milando Pratt; second precinct, Mrs. Julius F. Taylor; third precinct, Mrs. Eliza Thomas; fourth precinct, Mrs. Fisher S. Harris; fifth precinct, Mrs. A.W. McCune.  Mrs. Anna Lunch, Mrs. John Shea, Mrs. George Reiser, Mrs. J. Fewson Smith and Mrs. Catherine Heesch composed the executive committee.  Miss Phoebe Fletcher is the new assistant secretary, Mrs. Milando Pratt, corresponding secretary; Mrs. Joseph M .Cohen, treasurer.  Mrs. L.R. Rhodes occupied the president’s chair, and Mrs. George H. Wood is secretary of the club.

[Broad Ax, Jan. 21, 1899]

[transcribed and proofread by David Grow, Aug. 2006]


The Senatorial Contest

The executive committee of the woman’s Democratic club met at the cozy and cheerful home of Mrs. Geo. H. Wood, 24 S. State St., Wednesday afternoon and perfected all arrangements for tendering a reception to the members of the legislature, and the lucky winner in the senatorial contest will be the guest of honor on that occasion.  The reception will be held at the Kenyon Hotel.  Governor Heber M. Wells and many other loading statesmen and prominent citizens are expected to be present.

The following ladies compose the reception committee: Mrs. L.R. Rhodes, Mrs. Milando Pratt, Mrs. Eliza Thomas, Mrs. Fisher S. Harris, Mrs. A.W. McCune, Mrs. Julius F. Taylor, Mrs. George H. Wood, Mrs. Catherine Heesch, Mrs. John Shea, Mrs. J. Fewson Smith, Mrs. George Riser and Miss Anna Lynch.

At the close of the meeting Mrs. Wood served the ladies with refreshments in true southern hospitality.

[Broad Ax, Jan. 28, 1899]

[transcribed and proofread by David Grow, Aug. 2006]

Return to histories of Elizabeth Rich